Why do Nepali students wear slippers at Saint Peters?

I was having a conversation with the lady by the Quick Zone (at Saint Peter’s University) and after seeing that I had my slippers on, she commented that all the Nepali students wear flip-flops; even when it is snowing! I gave her an explanation and I was surprised at how good it sounded to me. Thus I would like to share it with you:

In Nepal, we have a culture of not wearing shoes inside the house. You take off your shoes before you go in; primarily because the shoes are going to be dirty, unlike here. When we go somewhere close by, then it is easy to just put on our slippers rather having to put on shoes. Moreover, if we are visiting someone close  by, then we would need to take off our shoes before going inside their house anyway!

On the contrary, most people here in the US wear their shoes inside their house too. Thus, people here put on their shoes longer and do not have to go through the hassles of having to take them off quite often either. Thus, it makes sense to me why Nepali students can be seen wearing slippers most of the time since we are used to that habit, especially if we are just going around on campus.

I feel that this is a very good explanation to the question. Please feel free to comment if you think differently or have additional explanations.

Leave a Reply

